Governor Charlie Crist signs safety belt law.
West Palm Beach, FL(JusticeNewsFlash.com)–The Florida legislature sent a bill to the desk of Governor Charlie Crist who signed the new regulation was officially signed into law on May 6, 2009. As reported by the Palm Beach Daily News, drivers violating Florida’s new safety belt law may be responsible for a $101 fine. The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles asserts the law applies to drivers, front seat passengers, and passengers under the age of 18 traveling in cars, pickup trucks, SUVs, and vans. Florida is the 28th state in the country to pass mandatory seat belt laws as a primary traffic violation. Florida is also now eligible for $35.5 million in federal highway funds.
Florida police officers can pull motor vehicles over specifically in violation of the safety belt law. The previous legislation allowed officers to write a safety belt citation as a secondary traffic offense after violators were stopped for another violation. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) www.nhtsa.gov asserts Florida’s mandatory seat belt law will prevent over 1,700 serious automobile accident injuries and recover over $408 million in associated annual costs. The Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) estimates the safety belt law will save as many as 140 lives in motor vehicle collisions (MVC) every year. The law will take effect to drivers and passengers on Florida highways and roadways on June 30, 2009.
JusticeNewsFlash.com news for Florida personal injury lawyers.