/EIN News/ MILWAUKEE, (August 6, 2009) — Indian Summer Festivals Inc. today announced the nominees for the sixth annual Indian Summer Music Awards (ISMA). The ISMA honors the best Native American music that has been commercially released between March 2, 2008 and March 1, 2009. These nominees advance to the next round of judging, where the winners will be selected on Saturday, Sept. 12 during the awards presentation at Indian Summer Festival.

Best Alternative Rock:
Sirensong by Eagle and Hawk
The Looking Wolf Project by Jan Michael Looking Wolf

Best Blues:
Broken Lands by Indigenous
Feel the Heat by Texas Meltdown
Pappy Johns lll – Having a Good Time Now by The Pappy Johns Blues Band

Best Classic Rock:
Sirensong by Eagle and Hawk
Anywhere by Leanne Goose

Best Country:
Life Ain’t Hard by Ray St. Germain
Out of the Blue by Out of the Blue

Best Folk:
Random Thoughts by Clarence Clearwater
Blackfeet Legions of Glacier National Park by Jack Gladstone
The Sounds of Ribbons by Annie Humphrey-Jimenez
Bitter Tears – Sacred Grounds by Michael Bucher and Joanne Shenandoah
MorningSky Drum Song by Jackie Tice

Best Hip Hop:
All Day – All Night by Rez Hogs
Wasted Talent by N8 featuring Rezhogs, Sean One R33cler
The World and Everything In It by Team Rez Official
Tumivut by Tumivut
London Fog (Premonitions) By Zane

Best Pop:
Singsoulgirl by Inez Jasper
New Moon Born by Jana Moshonee
London Fog (Premonitions) by Zane

Best Spiritual:
Red Hand by Mark E. Church
Truth by Benjamin Grimes
Earth Gift by Kevin Locke
Seven Rabbits by Jan Michael Looking Wolf
Generation 2 Generation 3 by Gil Tyner, J. McClellan, Jane Tyner

Best Native Spirit:
Signs of Things to Come by Rae Denton and Paul Warren
Reflections by Mark Holland and Cory Edwards
Cross Roads: The Beginning of a Brand New Day by Johnny Lipford
Footsteps – Songs of the Journey by Harry Seavey
Memory of Time by Jan Seiden

Best Contemporary Instrumental:
Sonoran Nights by Gabriel Ayala
Tango! By Gabriel Ayala
Tribal Music Suite-Journey of a Piaute by Arvel Bird
First Light by Golana’
Sacred Place by Mary Youngblood

Best Flute:
Tate’ Topa Win by J.J. Kent
A Place Called Peace by Randy Granger
Diversity by Jan Michael Looking Wolf
MorningSky Drum Song by Jackie Tice
Sacred Place by Mary Youngblood

Best Traditional Drum:
Spo’Mo’Kin’Nan by Black Lodge
The Elk Dreamers by Elk Soldier
Red Rock by Northern Cree
The Quiet Storm by Tha Tribe
For The Love by Thunder Hill

Best Traditional Vocal:
For Our Future by Cherokee National Youth Choir
Sunrise Love – Happiness with Wifey Over Coffee by Eli Secody
Love, Lies and Lullabies by Sullivan and Day
Lenape Spirits by Windwalker Spirit Buffalo
Faith by Kevin Yazzie

The ISMA program is devoted to the recognition of established and emerging artists who have made outstanding contributions toward indigenous people’s music. In addition, the awards have been created to increase awareness of the history and diversity of both traditional and contemporary American Indian culture. The awards presentation is an example of how Native American music is being recognized around the world and is a true statement for Native American entrepreneurship.

The music awards program is the result of a partnership between Indian Summer Festival (North America’s largest Native American festival) and Looking Glass Productions. The awards are sponsored by Mohican North Star Bingo and Casino and its supporting sponsors, Looking Glass Productions and the Menominee Casino-Bingo-Hotel.

About Indian Summer
Indian Summer Festival brings exciting sights and sounds Sept. 11-13 to Milwaukee’s lakefront Henry Maier Festival Park (Summerfest grounds). Regular festival hours are 4 p.m. to midnight Friday, noon to midnight Saturday, and 11 a.m. to 8 p.m. Sunday. Ticket prices are $10 (advance), $12 (gate) for adults and children 12 and under are free. Seniors age 60+ will be admitted for $10 at the gate. The Indian Summer office is located at 10809 W. Lincoln Ave., Suite #101, West Allis, WI 53227. For more information, phone (414) 604-1000 or visit the Web site at www.indiansummer.org